IOF announces results of year-end elections and welcomes new members

Results of recent CNS, CCA and regional elections for Asia-Pacific Advisory Council announced; new members in all committees welcomed
Chair of Patients Subcommittee, Famida Jiwa (left) and José Zanchetta, Chair of the CNS

IOF is pleased to mark the start of 2011 by announcing the results of 2010 year-end elections and by welcoming new members to the IOF family.

Committee of National Societies ([link 219]CNS[/link])
Long-time board member José Zanchetta (Argentina) has been elected Chair of the CNS in elections held during December 2010. As well, former Chair of the CNS, Famida Jiwa (Canada), was elected Chair of the Patient Societies Subcommittee.

With two new German member societies elected to the CNS in December 2010 (Netzwerk-Osteoporose e.V and Osteoporose Selbsthilfegruppen Dachverband e.V ), the CNS now numbers 196 societies from 92 countries, regions or territories.

Asian-Pacific Regional Elections
An Asia-Pacific Regional Advisory Council has been elected by the CNS in the region. IOF congratulates the newly elected representatives: Suthorn Bavonratanavech (Thailand); Siok Bee Chionh (Singapore); Hiroshi Hagino (Japan); Tai-Pang Ip (Hong Kong, China); Sarath Lekamwasam (Sri Lanka); Ambrish Mithal (India); Philip Sambrook (Australia); Ego Seeman (Ex-officio IOF board members); Edith Lau (Ex-officio IOF board members); Hajine Orimo (Ex-officio IOF board members). Read more about IOF’s [link 903]regional programme[/link]. 

Committee of Scientific Advisors ([link 220]CSA[/link])
Following the election of 12 distinguished researchers to the Committee in 2010, the CSA now numbers 109 (88 Full and 21 Associate ) members. New members elected in 2010 are
Heike Bischoff-Ferrari, Switzerland; Elaine Dennison, UK; Abdellah El Maghraoui, Morocco; Klaus Engelke, Germany; Mickaël Hiligsmann, Belgium; Annie Kung, China; Hua Lin, China; Laura Masi, Italy; Nicola Napoli, Italy; Manuel Sosa, Spain; Pawel Szulc, France; Nikhil Tandon, India; Roger Zebaze, Australia

Committee of Corporate Advisors ([link 221]CCA[/link])
IOF is pleased to announce that Laurence Alliot (Servier) and Norma Pigott (Amgen), elected Chair and Vice-Chair of the Committee of Corporate Advisors (CCA) respectively, will head this important committee for the term 2010-2014. IOF thanks former Chair Marcel LeChanteur (Lilly) for his longstanding support of IOF and welcomes Stephan Korte (Novartis), former Vice-Chair, as Deputy Chair of the CCA.

IOF also welcomes DSM and Ajinomoto Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd as new members of the CCA beginning in 2011. The CCA now numbers 32 leading companies working in a broad range of fields, including pharma, diagnostics, orthopaedics and consumer products.