EU Osteoporosis Consultation Panel

In 2002, with support from the European Union (EU), the EU Osteoporosis Consultation Panel was convened, bringing together policy makers and osteoporosis experts from the member states, and mandating them to work with stakeholders at both national and EU levels to implement practical, cost-effective strategies to improve access to diagnosis and proven therapies before the first fracture. 

The International Osteoporosis Foundation continues to support the activities of the EU Osteoporosis Consultation Panel, including their annual meetings held in conjunction with the European Parliament (EP) Osteoporosis Interest Group.

The initial 18-month project, a key building block in implementing recommendations outlined in the EC 1998 ‘Report on Osteoporosis in the European Community - Action for Prevention’ and the subsequent "Call to Action" by the EP Osteoporosis Interest Group, has been continued and is making strides in encouraging policy officials to focus attention on osteoporosis at the EU and national levels.

Various reports have been published, including a 2008 report which conducted a comprehensive EU-wide audit of the prevalence of osteoporosis and the status of its management in Europe. See Osteoporosis in the European Union in 2008: Ten years of progress and ongoing challenges

Meeting of the EU Osteoporosis Consultation Panel

EU Consultation PanelFrom left: Prof. Wolfgang Caselmann, Dr. Anja Weisgerber, MEP, Mary Honeyball, MEP, and IOF CEO Patrice McKenney at 9th EU Osteoporosis Consultation Panel Meeting











EU Osteoporosis Consultation Panel Meeting Reports

List of EU Osteoporosis Consultation Panel Members

(As of June 2012)

Consultation Panel Chair

Prof. Juliet Compston
Metabolic Bone Disease, University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine

Consultation Panel Senior Advisor

Prof. Socrates Papapoulos
Endocrinology and Metabolic Diseases, University of Leiden;
Board Member, International Osteoporosis Foundation

Consultation Panel Co-ordinator

Chaz Jagait
Policy Manager, International Osteoporosis Foundation

National Members


Prof. Gerold Holzer
University of Vienna Medical School; Austrian Menopause Society

Gabrielle Suppan
National Osteoporosis Patient Society Austria


Dr Stefan Goemaere
Belgium Bone Club

Prof. Jean-Yves Reginster
Professor of Epidemiology, Public Health and Health Economics at the University of Liège


Dr Roussanka Kovatcheva-Gueorguieva
Bulgarian League for the Prevention of Osteoporosis (BLPO)


Dr. Simeon Grazio
Croatian League Against Rheumatism


Dr George L. Georgiades
Cyprus Osteoporosis Association

Dr Christodoulos Kaisis
Ministry of Health

Czech Republic

Dr Milan Bayer
Czech Society for Metabolic Skeletal Diseases


Bo Abrahamsen
President Danish Bone Society

Dr. Pernille Hermann
Danish Bone Society

Dr Bente Lomholt  Langdahl
Danish Bone Society, President ECTS


Dr Katre Maasalu, President, Estonian Osteoporosis Society

Dr. Toomas Tein, Senior orthopaedic surgeon of Tartu University Hospital;
Board member of Estonian Orthopaedic Society; Member of Tartu Council, Estonia


Prof. Christel Lamberg-Allardt
University of Helsinki

Harri Sievanen
President, Finnish Association of Osteoporosis


Prof. Liana Euller-Ziegler
Department of Rheumatology, University Hospital of Nice;

Prof. Thierry Thomas
Head of Rheumatology Department, General Secretary of GRIO, INSERM, University Hospital


Prof. Karsten Dreinhöfer
Head, Dept. of  Orthopedics and Traumatology
Medical Park Berlin Humboldtmühle and Charité Universitätsmedizin, Berlin


Prof. George Lyritis
Hellenic Osteoporosis Foundation


Prof. Istvan Marton
Hungarian Osteoporosis Patients Association and Hungarian Society for Osteoporosis and Osteoarthrology


Prof. Moira O’Brien
Irish Osteoporosis Society

Michele O'Brien
Irish Osteoporosis Society

Dr. Liam Twomey
Member of Parliament, Irish Parliament


Prof. Silvano Adami

Prof. Sergio Ortolani
Metabolic Bone Diseases Unit, Istituto Auxologico Italiano IRCCS


Dr Ingrida Circene
Member of Parliament, Latvia


Dr Vidmantas Alekna
President, Lithuanian Osteoporosis Foundation

Dr. Marija Tamulaitiene
Board, Lithuanian Osteoporosis Foundation


Dr Marco Hirsch
Luxembourg Association for the Study of Bone Metabolism and Osteoporosis (ALEMO)

Dr Simone Steil
Chief Medical Officer, Division of Preventable Diseases, Ministry of Health


Prof. Mark Brincat
Head of Dept of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Dr Raymond Galea
Malta Osteoporosis Society

The Netherlands

Prof. Huibert A. P. Pols
Dean Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Erasmus University Rotterdam

Dr Pepita Groeneweld
Ministry of Health, the Netherlands


Prof. Roman Lorenc
Professor of Biochemistry and Experimental Medicine,  Multidisciplinary Osteoporotic Forum


Dr Viviana Tavares
Rheumatologist, Consultant for the Working Group for the National Plan Against Rheumatic Diseases, General Directorate of Health
President National Association Against Osteoporosis (APROS)

Dr. Alexandre Diniz, Ministry of Health


Dr Salvina Mihalcea
Association for Prevention of Osteoporosis in Romania (ASPOR)


Dr Eugen Nagy
Healthcare Surveillance Authority, Bratislava

Prof. Juraj Payer
President Slovak Osteoporosis Society


Dr Dusa Hlade Zore
President of the Slovene Osteoporosis Patient Society

Assoc Prof. Tomaz Kocjan 
Slovenia Bone Society


Prof. Jorge B. Cannata Andia
Service of Bone and Mineral Metabolism, Istitute Reina Sofia of Investigation, Oviedo


Caroline Åkerhielm
Swedish Rheumatism Association

Anne Carlsson
President Swedish Rheumatism Association

Dr. Halina Salminen
Medical Director, Centrum for Family Medicine, Huddinge, Stockholm
Board Swedish Osteoporosis Societyy

United Kingdom

Ms. Anne Simpson
National Osteoporosis Society, Development Manager for Scotland

Ms. Jeanette Owen
National Osteoporosis Society, Development Manager for Northern Ireland and Wales

Ms. Louise Madel,
National Osteoporosis Society Public Relations Manager

Prof. Eugene McCloskey, Northern General Hospital

Ms. Ann Jones

European Parliament Osteoporosis Interest Group Co-chairs

Ms. Nathalie Griesbeck
Member of the European Parliament, France

Ms. Mary Honeyball
Member of the European Parliament, UK

Ms. Serpa Pietikainen
Member of the European Parliament, Finland


Prof. Kristina Akesson
Project Partner, Bone & Joint Decade 2000-2010

Prof. David Marsh
Institute of Orthopaedics and Musculoskeletal Science

Judy Stenmark
CEO, International Osteoporosis Foundation