IOF awards honour individual achievements in research and advocacy

H. Genant (left) receives IOF Medal of Achievement on April 6, 2019
Dr J.D Adachi (right) receives Herbert A. Fleisch ESCEO-IOF Medal on April 5, 2019
Dr S Sabico (right) wins ESCEO-IOF Pierre Meunier Young Scientist Award on April 6, 2019
Read about the winners of the seven separate awards presented at the World Congress on Osteoporosis, Osteoarthritis and Musculoskeletal Diseases in Paris.

At the IOF-ESCEO World Congress held in Paris from April 4-7, 2019, IOF proudly recognized the noteworthy achievements of its members, which include globally renowned researchers and bone health advocates. Below is the list of awards which we were honoured to present - click on the links below to read the press releases!

>  Olof Johnell Science Award

Professor John A. Kanis presented with this prestigious award for his remarkable lifetime achievements in musculoskeletal research and policy implementation.

> IOF President’s Award

Jointly awarded to Dr Radmila Matijevic (Serbia) and Dr Greg Lyubomirsky (Australia) for their contributions to IOF and dedication to advancing education and awareness of osteoporosis.

IOF Medal of Achievement

Professor Harry Genant recognized for his innovative work in the field of non-invasive and quantitative imaging of bone, which has advanced knowledge in the mechanisms of bone fragility and the assessment of fracture risk in patients with osteoporosis.

> IOF CNS Medal

Dr Varta Babalyan (Armenia) recognized for her longstanding support of IOF initiatives and exceptional work on behalf of national and regional osteoporosis education and advocacy.

> ESCEO-IOF Herbert Fleisch Medal

Professor Jonathan D. Adachi, IOF Board member, honoured for his outstanding achievements in bone and osteoporosis research.

> ESCEO-IOF Pierre Meunier Young Scientist Award

Dr Shaun Sabico distinguished for his notable work in the areas of vitamin D research and guideline development.

As well, IOF presented the first Calcium Academy Awards to five researchers whose research abstracts provide new insights on calcium and its role in musculoskeletal health.