Professor Jean-Yves Reginster is announced winner of the prestigious Pierre Delmas Award

Researcher honoured for his long-time service to the International Osteoporosis Foundation
Professor Jean-Yves Reginster (left) accepts award from Professor Cyrus Cooper at the opening of the ECCEO9-IOF meeting in Athens

Today, Professor Jean-Yves Reginster of Belgium, a founding member of the IOF Board and IOF General Secretary from 1998 to 2007, was awarded the prestigious Pierre Delmas Award.

The award was presented by Professor Cyrus Cooper, Chair of the IOF Committee of Scientific Advisors, at an award ceremony held on at the opening of the ECCEO9-IOF Meeting in Athens on March 18, 2009.

The award, formerly known as the IOF President’s award, was renamed in memory of the late Pierre D. Delmas, IOF’s renowned founding president who passed away in July 2008. At the presentation of the award, Professor Cooper stated, “This award is given to an individual who has made a significant and unstinting contribution to the advancement of the work of the International Osteoporosis Foundation. Jean-Yves Reginster has been instrumental in the creation and growth of IOF, placing his great expertise in the service of IOF and the osteoporosis community as a whole.”

Jean-Yves Reginster is currently Professor of Epidemiology, Public Health and Health Economics at the University of Liège, Belgium. He is also President of the Department. of Public Health Sciences and Director of the Bone and Cartilage Research Unit at the University Hospital of Liège. As an active researcher, Professor Reginster has authored more than 500 publications, mainly dedicated to the pathophysiology of osteoarthritis, epidemiology of osteoporosis and arthritis, health economics, clinical management of osteoporosis and osteoarthritis. Among his other professional activities, Professor Reginster is General Secretary of the Belgium Bone Club, President of the European Society for Clinical and Economic Aspects of Osteoporosis and Osteoarthritis (ESCEO) and President of the Group for the Respect of Ethics and Excellence in Sciences (GREES).